Award name

EAPPC Outstanding Young Researcher Awards


Any young researcher of no more than 35 years (born after 31 August 1986) can apply. The applications are either personal or recommended by members of the EAPPC International Organizing Committee.

Application requirement

Each candidate must be the first author of a manuscript accepted as an oral contribution.

Due to special sanitary conditions, candidates will be able to participate in the Conference by being present or connected by digital software.


The four best candidates will recaive cash award of 500 € and a commemorative plaque each.

Application process

The application process opens on May 3rd 2021. The personal applicants should submit a draft of their paper and two letters of recommendation from pulsed power experts. All applicants should fill out a short form provided available here or in home page of the conference website and send it with the documents mentioned above to info@eappc-beams2020.org  with copy to laurent.veron@cea.fr.

The application deadline is July 16, 2021 (No further extension will be offered).

Review process

By July 31, 2021, the Local Technical Committee will summarize the applications received and send these to the EAPPC International Award Committee. Each application will be sent to 3 reviewers. The reviewers will be asked to judge the application as “not recommended”, “recommended” or “highly recommended”.

The feedback deadline for reviewers is August 13, 2021. Candidates obtaining either the comment “recommended” or “highly recommended” from at least two reviewers will be included in a short list.

The short list of candidates will be sent to the Local Technical Committee by August 19, 2021. The Local Technical Committee will arrange for the short listed candidates to present their oral presentations at the conference before 12:00 noon on September 1st, 2021.

After lunch on September 1st, 2021, the EAPPC International Award Committee will meet to decide the four winners. It is expected that a decision will be agreed based upon the review results.

The ‘EAPPC Outstanding Young Researcher Awards’ will be announced at the conference banquet on September 1st, 2021 and will be published later on the conference website.

Members of the EAPPC International Award Committee

  • CHAIKOVSKY Stanislav, Institute of Electrophysics of the Ural Division of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Ekaterinburg, Russia
  • DENG Jianjun, Institute of Fluid Physics (CAEP), China
  • JIANG Weihua, Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan
  • JIN Yun-Sik, Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute, Korea
  • KATSUKI Sunao, Institute of Pulsed Power Science, Kumamoto University, Japan
  • MÜLLER Georg, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • PEMEN Guus, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
  • REDONDO Luís, Lisbon Engineering Superior Institute, Portugal
  • RYOO Hong-Je, Chung-Ang University, Korea
  • SCHNEIDER Markus, French-German Research Institute of Saint-Louis, France
  • WANG Xinxin, Tsinghua University, China
  • ZHANG Jiande, National University of Defense Technology, China
  • ZURAUSKIENE Nerija, Center for Physical Sciences and Technology Vilnius, Lithuania